recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


July 23, 2003 : 8:56 p.m.
Growing Old and Kickin' Ass


M has had a few episodes since my Great-Uncle's funeral where she will just start crying all of a sudden. She says she doesn't want to get old. She doesn't want us to get old. She doesn't want to be a mom because that would mean she would have to leave us and then we would be old. It all makes me really sad.

To top it all off, this time she makes the comment that B (Jeff's half sister, not A, his 'real' sister) told her that when we die we never come back. Well M really desperately wants to believe (where she got this I have no idea) that we come back to earth after we die, so we've been telling her that that's a belief of alot of people. So now she's completely freaked out. I told her I was smarter than B. B is only 17, has a child, an STD (yes I realize it SOUNDS like his other sister - they lead very similar lives), and has dropped out of school. She still isn't sure whether to believe me or Aunt B.

I want to strangle her. No, not M, you sillies - B. What right has she to tell my daughter what she can believe?? I'm not even saying I believe in the same things M wants to believe in, but I'd never tell her what she feels is a truth is never going to happen. I mean, that's just taking a child's hope. That's just about the worst thing you can take from a child. It's one of the few things we have in this world. You shouldn't take it from your own children, and you DEFINATELY shouldn't take it from mine. That's just asking for an ass-whoopin'.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow