recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


July 15, 2003 : 4:41 p.m.
Planning a Wedding? Call me!


I have been thinking recently of trying (again) to turn this thing I have always loved doing into a business. What is it? Why, I thought you'd never ask! I want to be a party planner. Only I want a name that's a little more elegant-sounding than that. I have unofficially been doing it most of my years anyway. The first party I planned was for my parents...a suprise anniversary party that wasn't such a suprise. Hey, I was only like 10. I had to ask for lists of people and numbers, plus I couldn't actually go shopping or cook the food...Then there was a Christmas party I had for all my friends. I've planned 2 weddings for myself-only one of which was used (3 if you take into account the vow renewal I am planning right now), baby and bridal showers galore, and since I've been a mom, many extravagant, themed birthday parties. It's honestly an obsession. And people have been telling me I have a knack for it all along. It's about time I take some of their advice and make some money doing what I love.

This amazing girl knows of this dream and once upon a time took it upon herself to set up a website for me. It blew me away that she would do such a thing. We've been friends for a long time, but some things just take you by suprise. So anyway, she set up this website and as much as I loved her for it and had dreamt of it for years upon years, at the time I didn't have the time, perservation, energy, or the money to put into starting up a full-fledged business. Not to mention that I'm occasionally quite shy around new people, and I couldn't get past the fact that I'd have to actually approach and speak with new people to do this.

Well, I decided if I'm not going to get past it now, I never will. So, I'll nip it in the bud. I don't know what that exactly means, to nip something in the bud, but people throw it around all the time here so I thought I'd try to fit in for once.

Anyway, back to this business stuff. I've decided I'm going to devote the next several months to starting up this business of mine. It will take a while, as I want to do things slowly and do them right and make things look good. I'm going to research, compile lists, strategize, etc. That means lots of time spent at the library, pounding the pavement, and at the computer.

I have all these ideas, some written down, some not. Some I have actually used, some I haven't. Most of them are like little post-it notes I've written and stuck to various gray lumps of matter in my head. It's time to clean those up and put them into something a little more official. I am so excited. First I'm going to start researching. I'm going to design my website, business cards, make connections and all that jazz before I make anything public this time though. That way I'll be ready when the brides and well-to-do's start knocking down my door. ;)

The name I have picked out for my business is Occasions by Mariah. Imagine it in some beautiful scripty font. Cool, isn't it?

Now, hope with me will you, that this time next year I won't be perusing my archived posts and see this and go "Oh, that's a good idea, I should try to do that for real this time! No, no - I mean it, for real!"


Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow