recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


November 24, 2004 : 1:00 p.m.
All Hail Black Friday
...Oh Yeah...
and Happy Thanksgiving, too!


So, Thanksgiving. Yeah. I'm going to my grandpa's along with my parents and my daughter. Hubby has to stay behind because he works Friday. So he'll spend Thanksgiving with his mom, which will be nice. But I hate spending holidays away from him. Any days really, but holidays especially.

We did have a nice get-together with both of our families last weekend at our house, so that I wouldn't be totally sad that we didn't get to eat the bird together. So that was good. And! I'll get to see my grandpa and uncle, who I haven't seen for almost half-a-year.

AND! My mom and I are continuing our every-other-year (because that's how often I go with them, the other years to Jeff's family) tradition of getting up at insane hours and standing in the cold for an insane amount of time talking to other insane people who are all jovial and in good spirits. Then when they open the doors to the CRAZY STORE*, jovial good spirits fly out the door as the once friendly people turn into CRAZY STORE* freaks and start pushing and stealing things out of one anothers' carts, as my mom and I laugh at how some people can be so damned stupid over a few dollars. Don't get me wrong - we go to save a few dollars too, but I'll be damned if I will stoop to caveman (er...woman?) tactics to get it! Mainly I just love the rush and the excitement of what I like to call the Christmas Crunch. The decorations, the crouds, the colors, the music. Everything. It's so much FUN! It really is...I swear. You just wouldn't understand unless you *tried* it. C'mon. Try it. :)

*CRAZY STORE is whatever store happens to have the most items we want for the best prices. We go to all (ok..not ALL!) the stores, but CRAZY STORE is the one we hit first, before it opens.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow