recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


February 02, 2004 : 1:02 p.m.
SUPER-bowl, Indeed


It seems sad that the talk of last nights game isn't really about who won or lost, how they played the game, or even the commercials.

Nope...it's all about the action, baby.

The halftime action that is. All I have to say is, I'm glad my daughter wasn't watching. Hell, I'm suprised my husband didn't have a heart attack.

I'm actually quite suprised by Mr. Timberlake/Ms. Jackson (if your nasty, and it seems indeed she is). I mean, I understand it was produced by MTV, and they aren't the most conservative network out there. I can understand if they DID that on MTV. MTV is a station I would definately monitor my children's viewing of anyway. CBS is not. (And in no way should they be blamed.) You just don't expect that kind of thing on public, primetime television - and I'm sure there were quite a few unhappy parents. And rightfully so. I may be in the majority with that opinion, at least in my age bracket, but I'm a mother after all.

It was a very poor and distasteful decision on the entertainer's parts, at the very least a bad place to showcase their "act". I can't say so for her part, but as for Justin, I'm very disappointed. He has a throng of young fans (my daughter included), some who hang on his every move. I was the same way when I was young with New Kids on the Block. I vividly remember how the things they did affected me, how I reacted to them, and how my behavior sometimes revolved around them. I'd have been very disillusioned if I'd seen something like that from them. And in my opinion, Justin probably did just that with some of his younger fans, if not at the very least a lot of their parents.

And that can be a mistake, Mr. Timberlake. For your youngest fans anyway, the parents are the ones buying your concert tickets and all your other pocket-lining, estate-buying merchandise.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow