recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


August 08, 2003 : 12:34 p.m.
Things


35 things...because I don�t have time for 100 right now!

1. I love my name. I didn�t used to, it wasn�t �popular�. But now that�s exactly the reason I love it. Except that damned Mariah Carey. Whenever I tell people my name it�s �Oh like Mariah Carey?!?� Um. No. Like, me!

2. I�m named after the song �They Call the Wind Mariah� from the musical Paint Your Wagon.

3. My screen name is Windylady because of that.

4. I was going to be a Ryan, no matter if I was a boy or a girl. Ryan for a boy and Rhian for a girl. Then they chose Mariah. Go figure.

5. If I could name my next daughter after one of my friends, it would be either Gwendolyn or Katarina.

6. I�m 5 foot 7 inches tall.

7. My eyes have been described by people as �Icy blue�.

8. My hair is naturally a very dark brown - almost black.

9. I am a home-daycare provider.

10. I can speak at least a few words in 5 foreign languages: French, Spanish, Italian, German, and Slovak.

11. I have a horrible fear of bridges.

12. I once wanted to be a singer. Actually, truth be told, it�s still a secret wish of mine.

13. I�m a very emotional person. In fact, I can cry on command.

14. I don�t smoke. Never have, even though I grew up in a house where both my parents smoked.

15. I pray, I love and believe in God and the scripture, but organized religion is hard for me to participate in.

16. I don�t hate anybody.

17. I was hit by a drunk driver and my car was totaled, but he only had to spend 3 Saturdays in jail.

18. When I graduated high school, my mom as a gift sent me to Slovakia for a month by myself, to visit an exchange student I had met 3 years earlier.

19. While there I also visited Hungary, Czech Republic, and Austria.

20. I have only one child, a daughter.

21. When she was born, it was by emergency c-section and she was only 4 lbs (at full-term). She had to be on oxygen, and a lifeline helicopter was on stand-by for her.

22. I didn�t find out about the true severity of her condition or the standby helicopter until months later, when my MIL said that she drove the 3 hours to the hospital because she thought it might be the only chance she had to see her granddaughter alive. I almost had a nervous breakdown when I found out this information.

23. My husband and I have been trying unsuccessfully to have another child for the past 3 years.

24. I have played strip-poker.

25. I have, at times, had thoughts of suicide, although I�ve never tried anything.

26. I have only ever been with one man, and I am very proud of that fact.

27. I was 6 months pregnant when we got married.

28. I have met several famous people, mostly country music artists.

29. I was an extra in the movie Rudy, and you can see me 3 times if you know where to look. Sean Astin is one of the famous people I have met.

30. Someday I would love to take a religious vacation and experience the place Christ was when he was alive.

31. I believe there is intelligent life on other planets/solar systems.

32. I believe in Santa Claus, as far as the fact that the magic of Santa Claus is within us.

33. I love rainbows. They have always been a mystical magical thing to me.

34. I love the New Kids on the Block. They are basically my past. I can�t remember many of my teen years without remembering that group.

35. I still consider Donnie Wahlberg to be my first love.


Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow