recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


May 27, 2003 : 9:01 p.m.
Honk If You See Dead People


This weekend, we had the following conversation with our daughter (who's 5 by the way) while in the car passing a rather large cemetery:

M - Mama! I saw Jesus in that place where they bury people!!

*exchange of weirded-out looks between Jeff and I*

Me-You did? Are you sure it was Jesus?

M-YES! (kinda irritated that I would ask)

Jeff-What was he wearing? Blue jeans?

M-Nooo, DUH! He was wearing white, like He always does. He was raising his hands like this *raised her hands like she was lifting something*, to send a soul to God.

*another exchange of the looks between mom and dad*

Me-Well, honey, that's really amazing.

M-I know.

Hey, what else was I supposed to say??

The next day, while we were driving back by the same cemetery:

M-*totally excited* This is the place I saw Jesus!!! *a little sad* But he's not there now.

*same look between Jeff and I - we were really starting to consider the implications of our 5 year old seeing Jesus at this point*

Me-He's not? Well, he must be busy somewhere else.

*at the same time I spoke those words, I spotted a brilliant white statue of Jesus, holding his arms up as if "sending a soul to God"*

M-THERE HE IS!! He's sending another one up to heaven!

Of course, at this point all we could do was try to contain our giggles. Not at the fact that she thought she saw Jesus. She did, in fact, see just what she described. But giggling at the fact that we were seriously considering the fact that our daughter was some kind of medium.

Don't get me wrong, I believe that children can see things adults couldn't even comprehend. It's just that...I would think if she did see something it would start off a little smaller, like maybe Elvis.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow