recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


May 22, 2003 : 4:27 p.m.
Hunkfests and Palm Trees


I'm in a wonderful mood today. So either I'm manic depressive or hashing that out last night really got it off my chest and made me feel better. You choose.

Slight change of subject. I love Kenny Chesney . Yes he's country - so what. I also like Eminem , Good Charlotte , Uncle Kracker, Bon Jovi , Mandy Moore , and, yes, bite me, New Kids on the Block.

So anyway, back to Kenny. I am going to see him next Saturday...and in honor of that upcoming hunkfest (for those of you who are country fans - Keith Urban will be included in that hunkfest. Uh-huh. Aussie hunks rock.), I want to post lyrics to one of the songs that makes Kenny Chesney so damn loveable. He wrote this song for his ex-fiancee. *sniff*

You know that restaurant on Highway 1
With the Key Lime Pie, that song, the sand and the sun
Where we ran in our bare feet
Built a castle on the beach
Just the wind, the rocks, the waves and you and me

I can�t go there
Cause that�s just too much us
I can�t go there
I still feel your touch
There�s places in my heart and head
That feel as empty as our bed
So most nights I don�t even walk upstairs
Cause I can�t go there

Remember San Francisco on that cable car
Our reflection in the window of that store
How we danced the night away
With the lights out on the bay
We wound up in a blanket on the floor

I can�t go there
Cause Frisco�s too much us
I can�t go there
I still feel your touch
There�s places in my heart and head
That still feel empty as our bed
So most nights I don�t even walk upstairs
Cause I can�t go there

If it was only Florida
Or California
Maybe I could let myself move on
But it�s everywhere we�ve been
And everywhere I turn
I can�t love again
Because I�ve learned

That I can�t go there
It�s somethin� I can�t do
I can�t go there
Will I run into you?

When the sun shines, when it rains
Christmas parties, Football games
Winter, Summer, Fall or Spring
I see you in everything

I can�t go there

*sigh* Now that's love. That song is called...well that's just silly. You can figure that one out for yourself. It's on his "No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problems" CD. Check it out.

Everytime I hear it, the first verse puts me right back on Highway 1 with my honey that first year we went to Florida. I fell in love with the ocean and the palm trees that year. If we ever split up though, I can't say I wouldn't go there. I mean, it's the ocean and palm trees for goodness sakes. Hehe.


Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow