recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


May 19, 2003 : 12:14 p.m.
B&B & HGTV


Dilemma: Which to talk about first? The good news we got while on our wonderful anniversary weekend, or our wonderful anniversary weekend? hmm.

Well, first the weekend: it was WONDERFUL. I have never spent the night at a B&B before, but I will definately be going again. If by happenstance anyone in or planning to travel to northern Indiana should happen to be reading this, check out The Maple Leaf Inn B&B in Waterloo, near Ft. Wayne. The couple that run it are very sweet and masterful cooks and housekeepers. The house is beautiful, as were the victorian styled bedroom we stayed in. Back to the food (LOL) - they made us a candlelight dinner for two which included traditional french-onion soup with melted cheese over the top, Cornish Game Hen, Wild Rice, Salad, Steamed Veggies and homemade Crescent Rolls. Y-U-M! Not to mention a strawberry-angelfood-chocolate dessert that was to die for. Then for breakfast they made us Strawberry and Cream Cheese stuffed french toast and Apple Sausage. I mean, we're talking super-gourmet style here, all cooked by the owners. We had a marvelous, romantic time. We'll most assuredly be going back.

Now, for the good news we recieved while we were there - We GOT THE HOUSE!!

If you read my previous entries you know we were waiting to hear whether our offer was accepted on the house we've been drooling over, and it was! Closing should be sometime around mid-July, so I'll probably be chatting more and more about the new house, in fact, if I have anyone reading this you'll probably be sick of me soon! Hee :) I mean, I'm drooling over just the possibilities of using some of the ideas I've got stored in the backs of my brain from watching HGTV and the like!

We're going camping this weekend also, with my in-laws. That should be an experience. It's not necessarily my parents-in-law that I'm worried about but my 6-month-pregnant SIL that worries me. I haven't even introduced you to any of my wildly diverse family yet have I? Oh, that will come, believe me. You've been warned.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow