recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


August 16, 2003 : 9:38 a.m.
Birthdays All Around


Well the new baby has arrived! He's as adorable as anything I've ever laid eyes on. Actually he's been here since Sunday the 10th, but thanks to some damned virus I haven't been able to stay connected long enough to tell anybody about it.

But now that it's fixed - here are the particulars. I was at my mom's house, 1 1/2 hours north of here and about 3 hours northwest of the hospital. We went to the drive-in Saturday night to see American Wedding and Pirates of the Carribean. Two awesome movies by the way. Anyhow, we got home at 2:30 a.m. and went straight to bed. Then my mom wakes us up pounding on our door at 5:30 a.m. saying MIL was on the phone and A is about to go to the hospital. Since Danny was born in about 3 hours start - to - finish, I figured we'd miss it for sure. But I flew, I tell you. I. Flew. And I made the 3 hour drive in 2. Rock on!

And when I got there, they said they had checked A an hour ago and there was no change from 2 WEEKS ago! And that they would check her in another hour and if there were still no change, they were sending her home. I drove there at breakneck speeds to find out they were most likely SENDING HER HOME. So I made her do a few hundred jumping jacks and I pushed on her stomach to see if I could squeeze the little guy into action. Just kidding! They checked her after another hour of walking and she had dialated from a 3 to a 4. So the doctor broke her water because he figured it would happen that day anyway, and it was going so slow he thought he could move it along a bit. And did he ever. He broker A's water at 9 a.m. and Z was laid on her stomach all screaming and covered in gunk at precisely 10:10 a.m. One hour and ten minutes. And she didn't get an episiotomy or tear. Lucky bitch. I had to be knocked out and cut open to bring my child into this world. It's all about the battle scars and she got away without a one. Hmph!

All kidding aside though, it was an amazing thing to be a part of. Like I might have mentioned, I wasn't even conscious for M's birth, so it wasn't anything I've experienced before. And I adore him. All 5 1/2 pounds of him. He's exactly 1 1/2 pounds bigger than M, and he reminds me so much of her at that stage. And I adore him. He will be here tomorrow for M's birthday party, and I will be sure to have a picture or 2 to post so you can see just how adorable he really is. Because I forgot my camera in the rush to get to the hospital, but wasn't that worried about it as I was sure MIL or A had theirs. Which they didn't. So, sadly, nobody got a snap of him on his birthday which I think is just awful. But I'll never forget it anyway. And have I mentioned I adore him? And I think he adores me. After he was born and everyone held him, who was the only one who could get him to stop crying? That's right, Aunt Riah. The bestest Aunty in the WORLD I tell ya!

Well now that I've updated, I must go get prepared for M's party tomorrow. I'm sure I'll be posting about that one tomorrow. One reason - the families getting together is nothing but FUN, I tell ya. And of course, I'll be a basketcase. It was hard enough sending her to Kindergarten Thursday. Now she's another year older too? But I guess time just can't wait for moms to come to terms with their babies getting older. It would never happen.

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow