recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


February 20, 2005 : 9:06 p.m.
Impromptu


So Friday morning. I wasn't doing much, it was a light day for me, so the morning was basically mellow. I got on AIM to say hi to Miss Gwendolyn, a.k.a. Miss Wonderful, and by the end of the day I had a plane ticket headed to Ft. Lauderdale, leaving less than 24 hours later. And coming back less than 24 hours after that . All because of one Jimmy Buffet - Jimmy, I love ya! Thanks to you, I got to do the following (if only for a few sweet hours):

1. See one of my best friends in the world.

2. Spend time with some of the sweetest, smartest kids in the world.

3. See Palm Trees (of which I inexplicably, and very sadly came back with no pictures).

4. See the sun rise on the beautiful, stunning, magical ocean (of which, thank goodness, I DID come back with pictures).

I missed Gwendolyn. It has been exactly a year since I had last been to Florida. (Oddly enough, I just realized that when I say exactly, I mean it. My departure date last year was February 19...same this year. Freaky.) Although, truly, when we finally do actually see each other face-to-face it doesn't seem like it's been that long. It's just comfortable. She is truly like the sister I never had, as dear to me as my family. When someone thinks it's crazy that I would fly so far away from home for less than 24 hours, I just have this to say: would you not do the same for your family, if you hadn't seen them for a year?

I also miss the ocean. My heart is aching, how can you feel such a way about a thing ? It just has a way of soothing my soul like nothing else. If I could get up the gumption to move away from this cornfield, it would be closer to the ocean. Any ocean, really.


I know I don't get there often enough
But God knows I surely try
It's a magic kind of medicine
That no doctor could prescribe


Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow