recent | archives | guestbook | e-mail | notes | profile | private | gwendolyn | weetabix | the marassa | good recipes | diaryland | haloscan


June 10, 2004 : 11:12 p.m.
A Garbled Update, At Best


Lots of news, really. My sister-in-law is getting married tomorrow. We just found out a few days ago. She was originally going to be married June 19th, then they postponed it until NEXT June, now they are just going for it tomorrow. I can't say I'm unhappy about it. They couldn't have afforded to contribute to the cost of the wedding anyway, so why ask everyone else to pay for their wedding? Kind of unfair, I think. Also, being that this is her 3rd child by as many men - it's about time one of the fathers took responsibility and followed through on his promises.

Also, I have joined a homeschool group locally. It was actually just starting, I was at the first planning meeting. It is more than I could have hoped for. There is such a feeling of community and friendship...wanting to form a bond and having that be the basis for our group instead of *just* homeschooling being the thing that holds us together. I have been chosen, along with one other mom, to be in charge of field trips! How fun is that?!

We also found out late last week that my mother-in-law, who has too many health problems to list, has to have a hysterectomy. She is really worried about being off of work for the recovery period as they are barely making enough to get by as it is, not to mention not having any insurance. Which really pisses me off, because they don't qualify for medicaid or any other medical help for that matter. How are people who have medical problems and can't afford doctor visits and don't have insurance supposed to fix themselves exactly?? But she really needs to have it taken care of. She has been in a lot of pain. The healthcare situation in this country sucks.

I love America, I love our freedom. But something has to be done, and I for one wish the government would step in and do what needs to be done. If healthcare in this country were universal, maybe millions of people wouldn't be in debt with thousands of dollars of medical bills. Even people with insurance end up paying thousands of dollars they can't afford when they need an expensive surgery.

I don't know what the answer is, but there has to be some way to make things simpler and better for our own people. Now if you'll excuse me. I have to go to bed and have nightmares about how I am going to pay for 3 root canals, due to several years of not being eligible for dental insurance. Hell, now that I *have* the insurance, I have to come up with $500 out of pocket for EACH root canal. *whine*

Last Five
The Boys are Back in Town... - April 04, 2008
The End - August 22, 2005
Down Under, and I Don't Mean Australia - July 26, 2005
The Vacation Report, and How I Sympathize with Janet Leigh - July 18, 2005
Looking Forward - May 25, 2005

yesterday | tomorrow